Just Give Me An Effing Break
11:54 a.m. -- 2003-04-24

Entry Number : 203

Now Playing : Santana f/ Michelle Branch - Game of Love

Quote for Today : "Chris Westmoreland (a guy in my stats class).. I think he thinks he's a Beatle" -- Me

Today I Feel : The current mood of smileys114@hotmail.com at www.imood.com

Oh, GOD, I wish there was something better to do than sit in accounting and listen to my teacher talk about remodeling her bathroom. I don't really care a whole lot about her bathroom. I do care about the exam we are having on the 8th, though.

So, I guess I'm going to try to write something now. I think what I'm about to say will probably offend a few people who read my diary. So, on that note, anyone who feels they are easily offended should stop reading now. I have fully warned you; therefore, if you should continue I want only constructive criticism. Don't go off on me because you can't read.

There is currently some controversy going on about Rick Santorum, a Republican in the Senate, and comments that he made "against" gays. Apparently, he compared homesexual acts to bigamy and other crimes that they have nothing to do with. Upon further inquiry, he said he had no problem with homosexuality, only homosexual acts. Ok, first, I want to say bull-fucking-shit. If you are against gays' actions then you are against gays. Hello? Secondly, why is it that gay people enjoy controversy so much? I mean really. It all seems a bit dramatic to me. People discriminate against all kinds of people. People refer to southerners as rednecks, black people as niggers, gays as fags, women as helpless little peabrains that need men to "rule the world." Why should any group get more pissed off than any other group? By singling yourselves out you are just attracting more people to take a stand for or against the issue, and most likely it will be NEGATIVE publicity because if you attack every person that says something wrong, people will begin to wonder what exactly the group is so jumpy about.

Everyone makes mistakes, and words come out the wrong way. People in the media are more at target for this because of THE MEDIA. They can't escape being judged by their words. Who are you to judge what they meant by their words? Can we say freedom of speech? Ok, thanks.

Anyone who wants to give their opinion on this can leave a non-insulting, non-demeaning comment with their opinion of what's happening. Leave out anything you want to say about me. You can just e-mail that directly to me.

I just had to get that off my chest. I promise to have a less intense entry next time. That is just something that bothers me. It's just like people want special treatment because they are different from everyone else, yet when they get that it's labeled "discrimination." Grow up. I mean I'm open to changing my mind, but you have to prove to me that I'm wrong. If I am wrong, I will gladly admit to it.

I heard Texas had this bad storm/tornado go through, and now that storm system is headed this way. Damnit, the guy was supposed to start painting the house today. I hate storms. They scare me.

Ashley Elizabeth

I love you, Dexter. :x

(Tomorrow is mine and Dexter's one month anniversary! Go us! It doesn't seem like it's been a month yet :">)

7 more days of school

then || now
3 comment(s) so far.
Click here to go to a random diary entry.


clover the Mango! the cherry the kiwi



Miss These?
Puppies. - 2004-09-26
The Apartment. - 2004-08-06
Daily Grind, June 27th - 2004-06-29
2004 Beale Street Music Festival - 2004-03-16
- - 2004-03-15


All contents copyright ashley-o, 2002-2004.
Image by Me.
Best viewed in 1024 x 768.




Current
Archives
About Me
Reviews
Playlist
Convos
Profile
Poems
Pics

E-mail
Notes
Book
AIM

Readers
Host

amber-o
abbey-b
bodhi-coop
apartifall
quiddle
spoonreviews
msundrstood
american-emo
seenuh
un-cut
ragnarok2013
sarahstar612
plurr
artlifelove
pink-denim
sugababie88